Warwick Improvised Theatre Society

WITS is Warwick University's only improvised theatre society. We offer students the opportunity to exercise and improve their improvisation skills, whether it be through short-form games and exercises, or long-form improvised plays. The whole mindset of improv is about saying yes - accepting and endowing. Therefore anyone, whatever experience, is welcome to come along and have some fun.

Members can expect training in a wide range of improvisation techniques, both comedic and otherwise, as well as the opportunity to perform in regular showcases. These skills don't only help members with performing but also help to build confidence generally, as well as allowing people to work as a team and become part of a fully inclusive society.

The society runs two non-auditioned and non-compulsory weekly classes, in which members will be able to work on their skills and widen their knowledge of improvisation. Any members are welcome to come along to these sessions, even if they don't want to perform, as they provide a fun and positive environment to both develop skills as an actor and/or improviser, as well as have some fun. In addition to these sessions, frequent auditions are held to select teams of improvisers to represent the society in showcases on campus and at other universities and Improv festivals.

Monday 6-8pm: This workshop is a generally short-form-based session where anyone can come and develop their improvisational skills, as well as their confidence and stage etiquette.

Thursday 6-8pm: This session is for more technically based workshops, with both short-form and long-form exercises incorporated in order to develop and hone specific improvisational skills.

 

To find out more, sign up and recieve weekly e-mail updates OR contact any one of our illustrious exec members.
 
    e-mail (@warwick.ac.uk)
President Charlie Cooper C.Cooper.1@warwick@ac.uk
Secretary Mischa Alexander M.Alexander.1@warwick.ac.uk
Treasurer Alistair Robinson A.Robinson.8@warwick.ac.uk
Workshop Co-ordinator Rob Shaw 

R.Shaw@warwick.ac.uk

Social Secretaries and Welfare Officers Amir Hamza, Ben Chapman, and Amy Cairns

A.Hamza@warwick.ac.uk

B.Chapman.1@warwick.ac.uk

A.Cairns.2@warwick.ac.uk

PR Representative Matt James M.James.3@warwick.ac.uk
Tour Officer Ben Harcourt B.Harcourt@warwick.ac.uk
     

Join This Club

Current students should purchase the Warwick Improvised Theatre Society Standard Membership below.

Join

Please log in to join this organisation.