Flanders Symphony Orchestra

Flanders Symphony Orchestra

Dvorák Two Slavonic Dances
Beethoven Piano Concerto No.1
Sibelius The Swan of Tuonela
Grieg Peer Gynt Suites No.1 & 2

The Flanders Symphony Orchestra comes from the crossroads of Europe. So who better to take us on a musical road-trip that starts in the fields and villages of Dvorák’sBohemia and ends amidst the majestic fjords and Scandinavian forests of Norway?

It’s an evening packed with favourite melodies, too: no-one ever forgets the otherworldly sadness of Sibelius’s The Swan of Tuonela, while from The Hall of the Mountain King to the radiant freshness of MorningGrieg’s music for Peer Gynt contains some of the most hummable tunes ever composed. Nothing beats hearing this music performed live, and under their distinguished British chief conductor Jan Latham-Koenig, this fine Belgian orchestra will give it their all.

In between, they’ll provide spirited support for the masterly young Russian pianist Pavel Kolesnikov. Described by the Daily Telegraph as “spellbinding” he’s got exactly the blend of poetry and panache that Beethoven’s youthful First Concerto demands.

Event Details

Wednesday 16 May 2018

7:30pm - 9pm

Warwick Arts Centre

Similar Events